Types of leather

Smooth Leather

Smooth leather is a collective term for the types of leather whose grain side is processed on the outside regardless of the thickness of the natural grain of the animal. The grain side is the side where the fur originally grew.

Suede

Suede is a collective term for types of leather with a rough surface. There are two types: The downwardly split, rough surface of a skin on both sides and the upwardly processed, uncoated reverse side of a skin.

Nubuck leather

Nubuck is a suede that is sanded on the grain side. When the leather is sanded, the smooth side is roughened until it has the typical velvety surface. This also gives the nubuck leather a warm feel and high breathability. The hides of cattle, calves, goats, lambs or deer are used for nubuck leather. Nubuck leather is used in the furniture industry, for handbags and clothing as well as in the shoe industry.

Buckskin

Buckskin is a type of leather made from the skin of non-domesticated animals, including deer, elk, roe deer, kangaroo and wild boar skin. Suede is used to make shoes, jackets and trousers.

Nappa leather

Nappa leather, originally named after the Napa Valley in the USA, is a chrome-tanned full-grain smooth leather from calf or sheep, which either comes from the original skin surface or has been embossed into smooth leather. Today, nappa leather is the collective term for particularly supple, smooth leather for all animal species and uses.


Copyright Picture: Leather Care Supply

Lederarten

Glattleder

Glattleder ist ein Sammelbegriff für die Lederarten, deren Narbenseite nach aussen verarbeitet ist, unabhängig von der Stärke der natürlichen Narbung des Tieres. Die Narbenseite ist die Seite, wo ursprünglich das Fell wuchs.

Veloursleder / Rauleder

Veloursleder ist ein Sammelbegriff für Lederarten mit rauer Gebrauchsfläche. Es gibt zwei Arten: Die nach unten weg gespaltene, beidseitig raue Oberfläche einer Lederhaut und die nach oben verarbeitete, unbeschichtete Rückseite einer Lederhaut.

Nubukleder

Nubuk ist ein auf der Narbenseite geschliffenes Rauleder. Wenn das Leder geschliffen wird, raut man die glatte Seite so lange auf, bis sie die typische samtige Oberfläche aufweist. Das Nubukleder erhält dadurch auch den warmen Griff und die hohe Atmungsaktivität. Für das Nubukleder verwendet man die Häute von Rindern, Kälbern, Ziegen, Lämmern oder Hirschen. Eingesetzt wird Nubukleder in der Möbelindustrie, für Handtaschen und Bekleidung sowie in der Schuhindustrie.

Wildleder

Wildleder ist eine Sorte von Leder, die aus der Haut nicht domestizierter Tiere, unter anderem aus Hirsch-, Elch-, Reh-, Känguru- oder Wildschweinhaut, hergestellt wird. Wildleder wird zur Herstellung von Schuhen, Jacken und Hosen verwendet.

Nappaleder

Nappaleder, ursprünglich benannt nach dem Napa Valley in den USA, ist ein chromgegerbtes vollnarbiges Glattleder von Kalb oder Schaf, die entweder von der ursprünglichen Hautoberfläche herrühren oder in ebenmäßiges Leder geprägt wurden. Heute ist Nappaleder der Sammelbegriff für besonders geschmeidiges Glattleder aller Tierarten und Verwendungszwecke.


Copyright Bild: Leather Care Supply